Qywyntyna's Yesteryears

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Grey Screen Courtesy of Safari 4.0.1 Update: The Poison Apple Solution

leave a comment »

This case design housed the iMac G5s and the e...
Image via Wikipedia

My first several attempts at installing the Safari 4.0.1 update failed miserably:  upon reboot, there was no reboot, just a grey screen with the Apple logo in the center.  I don’t know what the techies call this, but I’m inclined to call it the Poison Apple Screen just for the cloying cuteness factor alone.

I had just purchased a graphics tablet not long ago, so my first thought was maybe the update didn’t like my new peripheral.  So I turned off my iMac and unplugged all peripherals except my mouse and keyboard.  Then I pressed my iMac’s power button…

I still got a gray screen with the Apple logo.  This time the hard drive sounded as if it was attempting to boot, but was having some difficulty getting past some unknown, to me, process.

I gave my hard drive about 15 minutes to see if it would boot.  Waiting seemed to do the trick.  However, I still had Safari 3.2.3 on my hard drive (I had previously installed the 10.5.7 combo update)!  So the install of Safari 4.0.1 had failed.  After several failed attempts, I found a solution that worked:

THE POISON APPLE SOLUTION (Successful Installation of the 10.5.7 combo update or Security Update 2009-002 is assumed)

  1. Go into the “Utilities” folder, open “Disk Utility” and select your Mac hard drive on the left.
  2. Verify and Repair Disk.
  3. Verify and Repair Disk Permissions.
  4. Back up your hard drive (I used Time Machine).
  5. Shut down your Mac and unplug all unnecessary peripherals, leaving only your keyboard and mouse plugged in.
  6. Turn on your Mac and attempt the Safari 4.0.1 update, but do not perform any other updates simultaneously.
  7. After restart, go back into “Disk Utility” and Verify and Repair Disk and Verify and Repair Permissions.

If you still have a gray screen on restart, turn off your Mac and turn it back on again.  Note:  Restart following the  Safari 4.0.1 update takes a bit longer than usual after this update, so patience is a virtue.

If worse comes to worse, you may have to reset NVRAM/PRAM, start your Mac from your Mac OS X install disk and use Disk Utility, and possibly remove all third party RAM and internal hardware.  Apple Support has complete instructions for the Poison Apple/Gray Screen Dilemma.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

